Week 2 Meals

Week 2 – les gooo. I shopped at the god-awful time of noon on a Sunday filled with chaos and picked-over shelves. I’m going to put a positive spin on it and use it as a reminder to avoid the grocery store at all times between the hours of 10am-5pm on Sundays. Anyways – I had some yummy recipes this week with plenty of diverse flavors that helped my taste buds never to get bored.

IMG_0997

Week 2 Meals:

Grocery list:

  • White onion
    • [CWBE]
  • Chopped green chiles
    • [CWBE]
  • Cannellini beans
    • [CWBE]
  • 3 chicken breasts (butterfly = 6)
    • [CWBE] + [SF]
  • 3 Jalapeños
    • [CWBE] + [SF]
  • 1 plain greek yogurt
    • [CWBE]
  • Flour tortillas
    • [CWBE]
  • Verde enchilada sauce
    • [CWBE]
  • Cilantro
    • [CWBE] + [SF]
  • Green onions
    • [CWBE] + [SF]
  • Baby carrots
    • [SF] + snacks
  • 1 Red bell pepper
    • [SF]
  • Snow peas
    • [SF]
  • Frozen broccoli
    • [SF]
  • cooked Minute Brown Rice
    • [SF]
  • Grapes
  • Strawberries

Left over from previous weeks: chicken broth

 

My interpretations:

  • Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas
    • As you can probably tell from the listed ingredients, I did not buy chicken bullion. I subbed a little bit of chicken broth instead – I personally didn’t notice a difference.
    • I added a lot of green chiles and jalapeños to make sure that there was plenty of flavor.
    • I subbed plain greek yogurt for the sour cream because I hate sour cream and it’s healthy – HOW CONVENIENT!
    • I poured the verde enchilada sauce into the ‘homemade’ sauce because I’m addicted to anything verde flavored. I poured the rest of the can once I had placed the prepared enchiladas into the baking dish.
    • These were delicious and still taste good heating them up!
    • I topped each tupperware with cilantro + green onions.

img_1005.jpg

  • Healthy Chicken Stir Fry
    • Marinating the chicken made a huge difference with flavor, definitely recommend it. IMG_1006
      • I only got one bell pepper because I am cheap.
      • I only bought baby carrots and did my best julienning them since I am cheap (and did not want to buy large carrots).
      • I am on a mushroom kick so I specifically looked for a recipe with mushrooms – YUM.
      • Overall this recipe turned out well for me, which I was kind of surprised about because I normally suck at thickening sauces. SCORE
      • I topped each tupperware with cilantro + green onions.

IMG_1010

I loved these recipes and how different the flavors were. 10/10 recommend both of them! Until next week!IMG_1021

Leave a comment